Te Akau Racing
Show menu
Contact us




Racing Record

Starts: 8
Wins: 4 (3 G&L)
Stakes Money:$256,250

Group and Listed Achievements

1st - $200,000 GROUP 1 Sistema Diamond Stakes 2YO SW 1200m

1st - $100,000 GROUP 2 James & Annie Sarten Memorial Stakes 3YO SW 1400m

1st - $70,000 GROUP 3 Reid & Harrison Matamata Slipper 2YO C&G SW 1200m

Sword of Osman became Te Akau’s sixth Group 3 Matamata Slipper winner when claiming a head-turning victory of 5.75 lengths in February 2018.

It was only the third start for the son of Savabeel, who had also won so impressively on debut, before nothing went right for him in the Karaka Million.

He then waltzed home against a high quality field on Auckland Cup Day at Ellerslie in March 2018 to claim the $200,000 Group 1 Sistema Diamond Stakes 2YO SW 1200m – with stablemate Avantage, the Karaka Million winner, finishing second in a stable quinella.

He was named as a finalist for the prestigious Champion 2YO of the Year award, which was subsequently won by his stablemate Avantage.

On Labour Day Monday in October 2018 he claimed his first 3YO title when winning the $100,000 Group 2 James and Annie Sarten Memorial Stakes over 1400m at Te Rapa.

To date he has earned $256,250 in prize money from his eight starts – four of which he has won.

Purchased by David Ellis for $165,000 from the 2017 Karaka Premier Sale he joins Te Akau’s five other winners of this event – Cosma D’ior (Dieu D’or) scored first in 1995, five time Group 1 winner Darci Brahma (Danehill) won the race in 2005, stallion Minstrel Court (Danehill Dancer) in 2008, King’s Ransom (King’s Chapel) in 2009, and the Group 1 winner Heroic Valour (Fastnet Rock) in 2016.

He is raced by the Te Akau Great Sword Syndicate (Mgr: KW Fenton-Ellis MNZM).

Subscribe to our newsletter