Horse of the Year Finalists Announced

Date: 29 Jul 2022

Horse of the Year Finalists Announced


NZ Racing News reports:


The finalists for the NZTR Horse of the Year Awards have been announced.

Jumper of the Year (5): Argyll, No Tip, The Cossack, Tallyho Twinkletoe, Te Kahu

Jumps Jockey of the Year (1): Shaun Phelan

Owner of the Year, sponsored by TAB NZ (10): Archer Equine Investments, John & Jan Cassin, Joan Egan, Gerry Harvey, BJ & J E Lindsay Partnership, Markwood Lodge, Graeme Rogerson, Trelawney Thoroughbreds, Valachi Downs, Waikato Stud

Jockey of the Year (4): Michael McNab, Opie Bosson, Lisa Allpress, Craig Grylls

Dunstan Trainer of the Year (1): Jamie Richards Newcomer to Training award:  Michael House

These join the flat finalists announced earlier this month:

Two-Year-Olds (4): Dynastic, Lickety Split, Maven Belle, Wolverine

Three-Year-Olds (9): Asterix, Belle En Rouge, Imperatriz, La Crique, Noverre, Pinarello, Self Obsession, Sword Of State, The Perfect Pink

Sprinter-Milers (up to 1600m) (6): Callsign Mav, Entriviere, Levante, Mascarpone, Roch ‘N' Horse, Two Illicit

Middle distance (1601-2200m) (4): Coventina Bay, Probabeel, Savy Yong Blonk, Tiptronic

Stayers (2201m & further) (3): Concert Hall, The Chosen One, Uareastar

The winners of these awards, along with the Stablehand of the Year, Media Contribution of the Year, and Contribution to Racing Award will be presented at the NZTR Thoroughbred Horse of the Year Awards at Claudelands on Sunday, 4 September.

The industry will also recognise the winners of the Jockey, Trainer, Apprentice Jockey, and Owner premierships and also witness the presentation of the 2021-22 Filly of the Year Award by New Zealand Bloodstock to the connections of Belle En Rouge and Self Obsession.


Sign up to our newsletter