HOTY Nominees Looking Good

Date: 3 Sep 2022

NZTR Horse Of The Year Awards ceremony for the 2021/22 season is tomorrow!

Te Akau is super proud of our hard-working team - we have 11 horses nominated for the ‘NZTR Horse Of The Year' Award title won by Probabeel last season and Melody Belle the previous two years prior!

We take a look back at a few performances from the 11 nominated:

  • Belle En Rouge

  • Dynastic

  • Entriviere

  • Imperatriz

  • Maven Belle

  • Noverre

  • Probabeel - 2020/21 Horse Of The Year Winner

  • Savy Yong Blonk

  • Self Obsession

  • Sword Of State

  • The Perfect Pink

We also want a huge shout out to Te Akau's winners and finalists as below :

  • Jamie Richards - Champion Trainer of the Year - only nomination and winner

  • Trainers' Premiership winner - Jamie Richards

  • Joe Kamaruddin - Champion Apprentice of the Year

  • Opie Bosson - Te Akau Stable Jockey - Champion Jockey of the Year finalist

  • Two-Year-Olds: Dynastic and Maven Belle

  • Three-Year-Olds: Belle En Rouge, Imperatriz, Noverre, Self Obsession, Sword Of State and The Perfect Pink

  • Sprinter-Milers (up to 1600m): Entriviere

  • Middle distance (1601-2200m): Probabeel and Savy Yong Blonk

  • Stablehand of the Year: Representing the Northern area - Te Akau's Nicole Shailer

Good luck for Sunday to all our connections! 🎉🍊


Sign up to our newsletter