Karaka 2YO Million Countdown

Date: 15 Dec 2022

Karaka 2YO Million Countdown


In five weeks on Saturday, the Karaka Million meeting will be staged at Auckland Thoroughbred Racing's Pukekohe Park.

NZ Bloodstock reports:

A Restricted Listed 1200m race for two-year-olds, the order of entry for the $1 million DoubleTree by Hilton Karaka Million 2YO is determined by prize money won with the field limited to 14 starters.

For the sixth year in a row in 2022, a packed and sun-soaked Ellerslie saluted syndication superstars Te Akau Racing and record-breaking trainer Jamie Richards as the winners of the $1 million DoubleTree by Hilton Karaka Million 2YO (1200m).

Dynastic (NZ) (Almanzor), who was bought by David Ellis CNZM for $360,000 from Book 1 of Karaka 2021, joined an exceptional stable honour roll alongside the subsequent Group One winners Melody Belle(NZ) (Commands), Avantage (Fastnet Rock), Probabeel (NZ) (Savabeel), Cool Aza Beel (NZ) (Savabeel) and On The Bubbles (Brazen Beau), taking out the 2022 edition.


Can the stable claim its 7th consecutive Karaka 2YO Million title in 2023 ...  Te Akau currently has 8 of the top 20, and 6 of the top 14 in the current order of entry:


$88,900 1 1 Impendabelle
Ch. F Impending x Applegate
A W Pike
Hallmark Stud
Brewers B/stock
$57,300 2 2 Ethereal Star
Ch. F Snitzel x Eleonora
Andrew Forsman
Blandford Lodge
Forsman Racing/Andrew Williams B/stock/Bevan Smith B/stock
$36,590 3 3 Trobriand
B. C Kermadec x Arboreal
M W Walker
Windsor Park Stud
DC Ellis
$34,040 4 4 Believe in Magic
B. F Not A Single Doubt x Perform a Miracle
M W Walker
Westbury Stud
DC Ellis
$33,150 5 5 Rhetorical
B. F Snitzel x Xpression
M W Walker
Haunui Farm
DC Ellis
$26,290 6 6 Dapper
Ch. C Shooting to Win x Brianna
J Benner & H Wynyard
Milan Park
GE Harding
$19,350 7 7 Balance of Power
B. C Almanzor x Respin
M W Walker
Cambridge Stud
DC Ellis
$18,600 8 8 Viva Vienna
Ch. F All Too Hard x Anna of Austria
M W Walker
Westbury Stud
DC Ellis
$17,250 9 9 Ulanova
Ch. F Santos x The Fairy's Kiss
S B Marsh
Kilgravin Lodge
Mick Wallace
$11,500 10 10 Orgullo
B. F Pride of Dubai x World of Gold
C Isdale
Hallmark Stud
Isdale Racing/IJ Lewis
$9,250 11 11 Shoes
Br. F Derryn x Ambitious Beauty
M Moroney & P Gerard
Grangewilliam Stud
Paul Moroney B/stock/Ballymore Stables
$8,400 12 12 Tokyo Tycoon
B. C Satono Aladdin x All About the Coin
M W Walker
Rich Hill Stud
DC Ellis
$5,550 13 13 Farravallo
B. G Belardo x Manurewa
P S Richards
Haunui Farm
Chris Rutten B/stock
$5,400 14 14 Illicit Dreams
B. F Vancouver x Illicit Romance
K Rae & K Williams-Tuhoro
Westbury Stud
Rae Racing
$5,250 15 15 To Catch a Thief
B. G U S Navy Flag x Stolen Gem
G Richardson & R Norvall
Woburn Farm
Stuart Hale & Co (BAFNZ)
$5,220 16 16 She Turns Heads
B. F Headwater x Convene
M W Walker
Carlaw Park
DC Ellis
$4,800 17 17 Langmore
B. F Almanzor x Ruthless Lady
J G Bary Weanling
JGG Bary
$4,750 18 18 Surf Queen
Ch. F Iffraaj x Rockelle
K Rae & K Williams-Tuhoro Online
Haunui Farm
Rae Racing Stables
$3,360 19 19 Platinum Designs
Br. C U S Navy Flag x The Tailors Niece
Ms L Latta
Valachi Downs
Lisa Latta Racing
$3,250 20 20 Never Forgotten
B. or Br. F Fastnet Rock x Memories of You
M W Walker
DC Ellis

Sign up to our newsletter