Melbourne Cup Fast Facts

Date: 1 Nov 2022

Melbourne Cup Fast Facts


Good luck today!

Fast Facts

Melbourne Cup Barrier Statistics

Barrier 11 has been the most successful stall, producing eight winners; most recently launching Americain to victory in 2010. Barrier 5 has won the race on seven occasions.

Verry Elleegant's winning barrier last year was 18.

The last Melbourne Cup winner to salute from the outside barrier was Brew (2000).

Prior to last year, barrier 18 was the only gate never to produce a winner since barriers were first used in 1924 while barrier 7 has not tasted success since Blackwood won the race in 1924 and barrier 12 is on a 73-year run of outs since Foxami won from that draw in 1949.

Since 1982, 40 years ago - barriers 6, 7, 12, 18 and 24 have not produced a Melbourne Cup winner.


Melbourne Cup Saddlecloth Statistics

Number 4 is the most successful Melbourne Cup saddlecloth boasting 12 wins after Verry Elleegant carried that number to victory last year.

Number 12 has produced 11 winners, Makybe Diva the last in 2003 while Number 1 has 10 wins and Number 6 has won the race nine times - Twilight Payment carried No. 6 to victory in 2020.

The unluckiest Melbourne Cup saddlecloth is No. 18 - last carried to victory by Peter Pan in 1932.


Melbourne Cup Winner Stats - Age

Four and five-year-old horses have the best record in the Melbourne Cup. 4YOs have won 46 times and 5YOs have won 44 times.

Six-year-olds have performed well in the race in recent years winning three of the past nine renewals, including last year when Verry Elleegant won the race.


Melbourne Cup Winner Stats - Sex

Stallions (entires) hold the record with 72 wins in the race.

Geldings have won the race on 54 occasions.

Just 14 mares in total, 12 individuals, have won the Melbourne Cup - Verry Elleegant was the last mare to win the race last year while Makybe Diva is the most famous, winning the race in 2003, 2004 and 2005.


Winning horse colours

The colour bay is a clear standout having produced 71 Melbourne Cup winners, almost double the next best, brown with 38 winners including Verry Elleegant last year.

Chestnuts have won 35 Melbourne Cups, greys have saluted six times while black horses have claimed five victories.


Melbourne Cup Weight Facts

Since the year 2000, the most successful Melbourne Cup winning weights have been 51 to 51.5kg, 52 to 52.5kg and 54 to 54.5kg. Each weight bracket has won four Melbourne Cups since 2000.

55 to 55.5 and 56 to 56.5kg have won three Melbourne Cups each since 2000.

Heaviest weight carried to victory since 2000 was Makybe Diva in 2005. She carried 58kg to victory that year while Verry Elleegant won the race last year carrying 57kg.

The lightest weight carried to victory since 2000 was Brew in 2000. He carried 49kg.


Origin of Melbourne Cup winners since 2000

Since 2000, 14 of the Melbourne Cup winners have been bred to Northern Hemisphere time and eight are Southern Hemisphere bred.

Breaking the last 21 winners down further - Five were UK bred, five New Zealand bred, three Australian and three Irish bred and two US and two German bred. The other two winners were French, and Japanese bred.

Thirteen of the past 21 winners were trained in Australia, eight were trained in the Northern Hemisphere (four in Ireland, two in France, one in the UK, Germany and Japan) and the other Melbourne Cup winner in the past 21 years was trained in New Zealand.


Melbourne Cup Winning Colours

White is the most successful Melbourne Cup colour, in the silks of 74 winning jockeys.

Blue has been in the colours of 60 Melbourne Cup winners, narrowly ahead of black with 57 wins.

Red has returned to the winner's stall on 48 occasions, yellow or gold 45 times, with green winning 23 Melbourne Cups.


Caulfield Cup - Melbourne Cup Double

Eleven Melbourne Cup winners won the Caulfield Cup in the lead-up - the most recent being Ethereal in 2001. Might and Power achieved the feat in 1997, Doriemus in 1995, Let's Elope in 1991, Gurner's Lane in 1982, Galilee in 1966 and Rising Fast in 1954.


Melbourne Cup Betting

Melbourne Cup favourites have won 32 times - Fiorente, a $7 chance in 2013, was the last favourite to salute for the punters.

Phar Lap was the shortes-priced favourite to win when $1.75 in 1930, followed by Revenue ($2.75 in 1901) and Archer ($3 in 1862).

Only four $101 roughies have won the Melbourne Cup - The Pearl in 1871, Wotan in 1936, Old Rowley in 1940 and Prince Of Penzance the most recent in 2015.

The average winning price since 2000 is $17.30.


The Melbourne Cup curse

Before Verry Elleegant (who drew barrier 19) jumped from the 18 gate last year, the number 18 was something you didn't want near your horse, saddlecloth, or barrier.

Barrier 18 had never, prior to 2021, produced a Melbourne Cup winner while the number 18 has only been carried to victory once, in 1932, 90 years ago on the great Peter Pan.


Sign up to our newsletter