Te Akau NZ Hits 100 Season Wins - Again

Date: 28 Jan 2024

Te Akau NZ Hits 100 Season Wins - Again

Loveracing.nz reports:

After reaching the 99 win mark on Wednesday at Matamata, Mark Walker and Sam Bergerson were swift in recording their 100th domestic winner for the 2023/24 season early at Riccarton on Saturday.

The powerhouse Te Akau stable has surpassed the 100 mark for the past five seasons, initially with former trainer Jamie Richards at the helm, before Walker returned from Singapore in 2022/23 and rewrote the history books in amassing a record total of 203 winners, as well as the fastest to a century.

Sam Bergerson joined Walker in partnership this season, and from the stable’s 523 starters, now have three Group One, four Group Two, three Group Three and three Listed winners to their credit with an overall strike rate of 5.2.

Te Akau principal David Ellis credited the pair alongside the remainder of their staff at both Matamata and Riccarton Park bases, the latter producing the 100th victor in Angel Wings, who was guided by former Te Akau apprentice Joe Kamaruddin in the Berkley Stud At Karaka 2024 (1100m), ahead of stablemate Superbly Written.

“What a great achievement by Mark and Sam to reach 100 wins in such a quick time again this season, and it’s hugely rewarding to everyone involved; staff, owners, and for Karyn (Fenton-Ellis) and me too,” Ellis said.

“Everyone that works for Te Akau gives 110 percent, and without that type of commitment, you just can’t get these sorts of results.”

Te Akau Racing established its first trans-Tasman stable at Cranbourne earlier this season, with champion mare Imperatriz’s three Group Ones headlining nine victories from their Australian-based representatives.

“(The 100 wins) have included 18 stakes' winners between New Zealand and Australia, and we’ve got some nice black-type chances coming up through the summer and autumn in both countries,” Ellis said.


Sign up to our newsletter